Scientific Steering Group

The Scientific Network for the Caucasus Mountain Region (SNC-mt) is guided by the Scientific Steering Group (SSG), which grew out of the informal Ad Hoc Working Group created by the Tbilisi Outcome Document in May 2013. The SSG was formally constituted with the signature of the Kvareli MoU in July 2014.


The SSG provides strategic and scientific guidance to the Network, oversees its further development, and represents it vis-à-vis third parties. It elaborates its organisational setup and working procedures, oversees SNC-mt bodies such as the Coordination Unit and Thematic Working Groups (TWGs), and defines procedures for SNC-mt membership. The SSG is comprised of two persons per country from the wider Caucasus region, representing research and practice in the Caucasus mountain region.


Members of the Scientific Steering Group:


Mr. Armen gevorgian

Armenian Geographical Institute of the National Academy of Sciences



Mr. Ramiz Mammadov

Institute of Geography of the National Academy of Science



Mr. David Tarkhnishvili

Institute of Ecology Ilia State University



Mr. Joseph Salukvadze

Department of Human Geography of Ivane Javakhishvili State University



Ms. Raisa Gracheva

Institute of Geography of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Russian Federation


Mr. Kamran Shayesteh

Malayer University of Islamic Republic of Iran


Mr. Hakan Yigitbasioglu

Department of Physical Geography of Ankara University

Ankara University



Mr. Mehmet Somuncu

Department of Geography of Ankara University